To better serve site visitors, Government of Alberta ministry web content is being centralized on Webpages on this ministry site will be either relocated to or removed over the next few months. Messaging and redirects will help guide you to updated content during and after this transition. Scheduled completion date for this project is March 31, 2019. Thank you for your patience as we proceed with these changes.

Alberta's Transboundary Water Agreements

Landscape with river running through Hilly landscape River and trees

In Alberta water management does not end at the province’s borders. The Government of Alberta’s various transboundary water agreements involve the Government of Canada, as well as the provinces of British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and the Northwest Territories. Alberta (i.e. Canada) also has water agreement with the State of Montana (i.e. the United States).

Alberta works with its national and international neighbours to manage its water resources to meet its obligations to its neighbours, as well as receive its entitlements from its neighbours. Part of this work involves participating on water boards as defined in the agreements.

Alberta map of areas covered by Transboundary Water Agreements


Page Information

Updated: Dec 15, 2015