Wildlife Management Units

The Province of Alberta is divided into a series of Wildlife Management Units (WMU). Wildlife within the boundaries of each WMU is managed by the Ministry of Environment and Parks (AEP) according to the regulations established in Alberta’s Wildlife Act.

WMU Maps and Legal Land Descriptions

WMU boundaries shown within this website are small-scale approximations of the actual units legally described in the Wildlife Regulation (AR 143/97) and subsequent amendments.

To identify the WMU in which you wish to hunt, select a WMU from the list on the left side of the page below to view a map and legal land description.

It is your responsibility to know in which WMU you are hunting and the seasons, rules and regulations that govern hunting in that WMU.

Wildlife Management Zones


Page Information

Updated: Jul 21, 2015