To better serve site visitors, Government of Alberta ministry web content is being centralized on Webpages on this ministry site will be either relocated to or removed over the next few months. Messaging and redirects will help guide you to updated content during and after this transition. Scheduled completion date for this project is March 31, 2019. Thank you for your patience as we proceed with these changes.

Award Recipients

Congratulations to this year’s Order of the Bighorn Award recipients!

John Campbell Jr.
Tim Dietzler
Bazil Leonard
Maurice Nadeau
Tom Partello
Gottlob Schmidt

Recipient Biographies and Testimonies

Learn more about the award winners in the document and video below:

Past Award Recipients

NOTE: The awards are not presented annually.

Tom Bateman
Dr. Charles Bird
Neil Downey
Merv Kopperud
Kelly Semple

Kim Allan
Jay Bartsch
Tony Blake
Rod Dyck
Dr. Bob Fisher
Jim Potter

Donald (Don) Andersen
Garry Hackler
Ed Scarlett
Ryk Visscher
Canadian Forces Base Suffield

Edgar & Jeanne Jones
Murray MacKay
Dave Powell
Norman Rodseth
Andrew (Andy) Russell
William Turnbull
Bow River Irrigation District

Ray Cromie
George Loades
Robert (Bob) Scammell
Robert Tanghe
Phil & Helen Trefry
William (Bill) Wishart

Bob Gruszecki
Darryl Hebert
Bruce Masterman
Barry Mitchell
Dr. Martin Paetz
Bow Habitat Station Core Committee

Gavin Craig
Westwind Flyfishers
George Freeman
Lew Ramstead
Trout Unlimited Canada
Special Minister's Award:
Bull Trout Task Force

Alex Kurash
Dr. Darryl Smith
Ralph Schmidt
Eastern Irrigation District
Strathcona County
Lethbridge Community College
Special Minister's Award:
Lethbridge Community College

Carol Kelly
Oswald Schalm
Metro Hawaleshka
Cardinal River Coals Limited
Special Areas Board
Special Minister's Award:
Federation of Alberta Naturalists

Ken Kultgen
Elmer Kure
Bob Neufeld
Ben & Toni Rosnau
Alberta Government Telephones
Special Minister's Award:
Alberta Conservation Education Program

Louis Bartle
Ann & Sandy Cross
Frank Lafoy
Wendy Slaytor
Colin Weir
Special Minister's Award:
Ducks Unlimited Canada

Bryce Chase
Reinhold Eben-Ebenau
Joy and Cam Finlay
Norris Gray
Kerry Wood
Brooks and District Fish & Game Association

Irvin & Irene Arndt
Ted Blowers
Lawrence D. Halmrast
Nyal Dee Hirsche
British Columbia Forest Products Ltd.
Calgary Zoological Society

Garnet Anthony
John Overguard
Vic Scheuerman
Lloyd Shea
Ducks Unlimited Canada
Shell Canada Resources Limited
Stony Plain Fish & Game Association

Robert & Jeannette Burns
August Peters
Ray Salt
Miles Smeeton
Canadian Hunter Exploration Limited

Alva Bair
Charlie & Winnie Ellis
George Mitchell
Helen Ridgeway
Athabasca Fish & Game Association

Emma and W.G. Bowthorpe
J.B. (Jim) Cross
Archie Hogg
C.E. (Curly) Wren
Alberta Fish & Game Association


Page Information

Updated: Mar 5, 2015