To better serve site visitors, Government of Alberta ministry web content is being centralized on Webpages on this ministry site will be either relocated to or removed over the next few months. Messaging and redirects will help guide you to updated content during and after this transition. Scheduled completion date for this project is March 31, 2019. Thank you for your patience as we proceed with these changes.

Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards

In October, 2012, the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) agreed to new Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards (CAAQS) for fine particulate matter (PM2.5) and ozone. The CAAQS are part of a collaborative national Air Quality Management System (AQMS), to better protect human health and the environment.

Alberta’s six air zones are assessed for achievement against these values. The air zones reports along with supplementary information on the CAAQS and Alberta’s implementation of the Air Zone Management Framework are available below.

This table illustrates the CAAQS and management thresholds for 2015. The following map shows the six air zones, which are based on the Land-use Framework Regions.

Air Management Threshold Values

Colored Map of Alberta showing land use zones

The CAAQS replace the Canada-wide Standards for Fine Particulate Matter and Ozone, which were established in June 2000 by the CCME. The Clean Air Strategic Alliance (CASA) developed a Particulate Matter and Ozone Management Framework and the Government of Alberta adopted this framework as Alberta's commitment to achieve Canada-wide Standard levels by the 2010 target date.

Some areas of the province have developed management plans to reduce ozone and fine particulate matter levels in response to the CASA Particulate Matter and Ozone Management Framework assessments. For more information on the CASA Particulate Matter and Ozone Management Framework and results of historical annual assessments, please see:

For more information:


Page Information

Updated: Nov 16, 2018